Hello Parents, 

I LOVE your kiddos!
They are very sweet and funny and I have enjoyed getting to know them over the last three days. I hope they haven’t been too tired as we have covered a lot of rules/expectations, procedures, how to be a community and team and many other first week processes. Next week we will start learning about social thinking which will help them think about what others are thinking and feeling and learning about the classroom as a community of learners. 
 
I thought I would clarify some potential questions you may have had this week:

Your child’s green folder will come home and back to school
every day. Your child will take out info and papers from their mailbox each day and put it in their green folder. We are working on independence in doing this, so sometimes the folder may not come home…the next couple of weeks we will be
practicing these routines. Please take a look at the papers each night and remove them from the folder. Send the folder back with your child the next day and your child can hand me any papers/info you may have for myself or the office. 

You may have noticed the homework portion of the folder. I will
go over that with you on curriculum night. We will not officially start doing that part of the homework until October. The kids have noticed I have a September section for homework. I have encouraged them to practice recording their reading with the September log sheet. 
  
Thank you parents for making sure every child had their “Me in a Bag” assignment today. They had fun setting up their displays and finding out about each other. Ask your child what they learned about someone in class today. 
 
Thanks for those of you who signed up to volunteer. Volunteers
will start shortly after curriculum night September 18th. 
 
We will begin our first science unit next week on the plant life
cycles which will be exciting for the kids!

I think that is it for now. Thanks for entrusting your child
with me each school day! I look forward to an incredible year with them. Enjoy your long weekend!
 
Fondly,

Julie Buck






Leave a Reply.